Banner image - Left side has the MYFest logo with words creative, caring, community, emergent and equitable. and #MYFest24 under the logo. The middle reads "MYFest 2024 June, July and August" and the right side has the Equity Unbound logo of a colorful world map with the words 'via equity unbound' under it.

MYFest23 At A Glance

This page gives you a quick idea of all the MYFest offerings, but you can browse by month or by theme from the top menu. We will keep adding more information on each event.

Ongoing Events (Asynchronous Only)

Writer’s Journey
Mia Zamora and FriendsWellbeing & Joy
The MYFest23 Community Book
Trayle KulshanEmergent

Ongoing Events & Tracks (Synchronous and Asynchronous)

Reader’s Theater
July 21, 2023 from 12-1pm EDT, 4-5pm UTC, 7-8pm Cairo
July 28, 2023 from 12-1pm EDT, 4-5pm UTC, 7-8pm Cairo
August 7, 2023 from 1-2pm EDT, 5-6pm UTC, 8-9pm Cairo
August 14, 2023 from 11-12pm EDT, 3-4pm UTC, 6-7pm Cairo
Reader’s TheaterLaura Gibbs, Jim Stauffer & Hoda Wellbeing & Joy
Website: MYFest.LauraGibbs.net
MineFest (Minecraft especially made for MYFest)
TBD (synchronous and asynchronous)
MineFestHenry and MiaWellbeing & Joy
(More sessions added regularly throughout June, July, and August)

Track – Navigating Grief and Uncertainty using Positive Psychology and Psychological Capital Series

Introduction to Grief, Storytelling, Positive Psychology and HERO
June 30, 2023 from 1-2:30pm EDT, 5-6:30pm UTC, 8-9:30pm Cairo
Navigating Grief and Uncertainty using Positive Psychology and Psychological CapitalChristy Albright and Rissa Sorensen-UnruhWellbeing & Joy
Grief & Storytelling: Focus on Hope
July 7, 2023 from 1-2:30pm EDT, 5-6:30pm UTC, 8-9:30pm Cairo
Navigating Grief and Uncertainty using Positive Psychology and Psychological CapitalChristy Albright and Rissa Sorensen-UnruhWellbeing & Joy
Grief & Storytelling: Focus on Efficacy
July 14, 2023 from 1-2:30pm EDT, 5-6:30pm UTC, 8-9:30pm Cairo
Navigating Grief and Uncertainty using Positive Psychology and Psychological CapitalChristy Albright and Rissa Sorensen-UnruhWellbeing & Joy
Grief & Storytelling: Focus on Resiliency
July 21, 2023 from 1-2:30pm EDT, 5-6:30pm UTC, 8-9:30pm Cairo
Navigating Grief and Uncertainty using Positive Psychology and Psychological CapitalChristy Albright and Rissa Sorensen-UnruhWellbeing & Joy
Grief & Storytelling: Focus on Optimism
July 28, 2023 from 1-2:30pm EDT, 5-6:30pm UTC, 8-9:30pm Cairo
Navigating Grief and Uncertainty using Positive Psychology and Psychological CapitalChristy Albright and Rissa Sorensen-UnruhWellbeing & Joy
Grief, PsyCap, HERO, and Sabbath Moments
August 4, 2023 from 1-2:30pm EDT, 5-6:30pm UTC, 8-9:30pm Cairo
Navigating Grief and Uncertainty using Positive Psychology and Psychological CapitalChristy Albright and Rissa Sorensen-UnruhWellbeing & Joy

Track – Community Building and Intentionally Equitable Hospitality Series

Taste of MYFest: Intentionally Equitable Hospitality Series Session 1
June 5, 2023 from 10-11am EDT, 2-3pm UTC, 5-6pm Cairo
Community Building and IEH SeriesMaha Bali, Mia Zamora, Yasser Tamer, Irene MaweuCommunity
Collaboratively Creating Community Guidelines: Intentionally Equitable Hospitality Series Session 2
June 8, 2023 from 10-11am EDT, 2-3pm UTC, 5-6pm Cairo
Community Building and IEH SeriesMaha Bali, Mia Zamora, Yasser Tamer, Irene MaweuCommunity
Designing for Care: How to organize interactive meetings on disability using (IEH) Intentionally Equitable Hospitality
June 21, 2023 from 12-1pm EDT, 4-5pm UTC, 7-8pm Cairo
Community Building and IEH SeriesYasser TamerCommunity
Intentionally Equitable Hospitality in Workplaces (Parts 1 & 2)
Part 1: July 6, 2023 at 1pm-2pm EDT, 5pm-6pm UTC, 8pm-9pm Cairo
Part 2: August 3, 2023 at 12pm-1.15pm EDT, 4pm-6:15pm UTC, 7pm-8.15pm Cairo
Community Building and IEH SeriesBonni Stachowiak and Maha BaliCommunity
(More sessions added regularly each week, including biweekly reflection sessions and consultations)

Track – Artificial Intelligence and Technology in Education Series

How to ask good questions: The #1 skill we all need to navigate the  AI age
June 19, 2023 from 12-1pm EDT, 4-5pm UTC, 7-8pm Cairo
Artificial Intelligence and Technology in Education SeriesPia LauritzenOpen Education and Digital Literacy
Critical AI Literacy
June 20, 2023 from 12-1pm EDT, 4-5pm UTC, 7-8pm Cairo
Artificial Intelligence and Technology in Education SeriesNicola Pallitt & Maha BaliOpen Education and Digital Literacy
Future facing assessment: How to use AI in the design of alternative assessments
July 4, 2023 from 10-11am EDT, 2-3pm UTC, 5-6pm Cairo
Artificial Intelligence and Technology in Education SeriesEliana KhouryOpen Education and Digital Literacy
Empowering Educators: AI tool showcase
July 5, 2023 from 12-1pm EDT, 4-5pm UTC, 7-8pm Cairo
Artificial Intelligence and Technology in Education SeriesNicola PallittOpen Education and Digital Literacy
An Excursion through the Interstices of Generative AI and EdTech
July 10, 2023 from 1-2pm EDT, 5-6pm UTC, 8-9pm Cairo
Artificial Intelligence and Technology in Education SeriesGeorge Station & Aimee EscalanteOpen Education and Digital Literacy
Using AI writing feedback to supplement human feedback
July 11, 2023 from 1-2pm EDT, 5-6pm UTC, 8-9pm Cairo
Artificial Intelligence and Technology in Education SeriesAnna MillsOpen Education and Digital Literacy
Ethics as reflection, interrogation, and design
July 28, 2023 from 10am-12pm EDT, 2-4pm UTC, 5-7pm Cairo
Artificial Intelligence and Technology in Education SeriesStephanie MooreOpen Education and Digital Literacy
Using ChatGPT for help with our teaching, writing, and administrative work
July 12, 2023 from 2-3pm EDT, 6-7pm UTC, 9-10pm Cairo
Artificial Intelligence and Technology in Education SeriesAnna MillsOpen Education and Digital Literacy
How can you be pragmatic and ethical together, navigating entanglements and tensions in integrating educational technology into design?
July 12, 2023 from 7:30-8:30pm EDT, 11:30pm-12:30am UTC, 2:30am-3:30am Cairo
Artificial Intelligence and Technology in Education SeriesTim Fawns & Stephanie MooreOpen Education and Digital Literacy
Machine-Assisted Writing: generative Activities for the Composition Classroom
July 17, 2023 from 12-2pm EDT, 4pm-6am UTC, 7pm-9pm Cairo
Artificial Intelligence and Technology in Education SeriesMark C. MarinoOpen Education and Digital Literacy
Playful Prompting: A lighter approach to AI
July 20, 2023 from 12-2pm EDT, 4pm-6am UTC, 7pm-9pm Cairo
Artificial Intelligence and Technology in Education SeriesMark C. MarinoOpen Education and Digital Literacy
Empowering Educators: AI tool showcase
August 8, 2023 from 12-1pm EDT, 4pm-5am UTC, 7pm-8pm Cairo
Artificial Intelligence and Technology in Education SeriesNicola PallittOpen Education and Digital Literacy

Alternative Grading Website (including Ungrading in STEM track, Grade Expectations track, and Labor-based Grading Workshop)

Track – Ungrading in STEM: Equity Concerns

Being selfish with alternative grading
June 30, 2023 from 10-11:30am EDT, 2-3:30pm UTC, 5-6:30pm Cairo
Ungrading in STEM: Equity ConcernsCourtney SobersCritical Pedagogy and Social Justice
Customizing alternative grading for scale
July 21, 2023 from 10-11:30am EDT, 2-3:30pm UTC, 5-6:30pm Cairo
Ungrading in STEM: Equity ConcernsCourtney SobersCritical Pedagogy and Social Justice
CANCELLED/POSTPONEDIntersectionality and alternative grading: Keeping the receipts
August 25, 2023 from 10-11:30am EDT, 2-3:30pm UTC, 5-6:30pm Cairo
Ungrading in STEM: Equity ConcernsCourtney SobersCritical Pedagogy and Social Justice

Track – Grade Expectations: Why Assessing for Equity Matters

Let’s Talk Grading
July 26, 2023 from 1-2:30pm EDT, 5-6:30pm UTC, 8-9:30pm Cairo
Grading Expectations: Why Assessing for Equity MattersAmy LinCritical Pedagogy and Social Justice
Let’s Talk Pizza
August 2, 2023 from 1-2:30pm EDT, 5-6:30pm UTC, 8-9:30pm Cairo
Grading Expectations: Why Assessing for Equity MattersAmy LinCritical Pedagogy and Social Justice
Let’s Talk!
August 9, 2023 from 1-2:30pm EDT, 5-6:30pm UTC, 8-9:30pm Cairo
Grading Expectations: Why Assessing for Equity MattersAmy LinCritical Pedagogy and Social Justice

Track – Examining the Hidden Curriculum of Ed Tech

Examining the Hidden Curriculum of Ed Tech Part 1: Values, Motivations, and Beliefs
July 26, 2023 from 10am-11:30am EDT, 2-3:30pm GMT, 5-6:30pm Cairo
Examining the Hidden Curriculum of Ed TechDanielle DilkesOpen Education and Digital Literacy
Examining the Hidden Curriculum of Ed Tech Part 2: Hostile Architecture
July 27, 2023 from 1pm-2:30pm EDT, 5-6:30pm GMT, 8-9:30pm Cairo
Examining the Hidden Curriculum of Ed TechDanielle DilkesOpen Education and Digital Literacy
Re/storying Pedagogy for More Equitable Futures
August 8, 2023 from 12am-2pm EDT, 4-6pm GMT, 7-9pm Cairo
Examining the Hidden Curriculum of Ed TechDanielle DilkesOpen Education and Digital Literacy

Track – Critical, Socially Just, and Open Pedagogies in STEM II

Session 1: Trust and Power in the STEM Classroom
August 8, 2023 from 1pm-2:15pm EDT, 5-6:15pm UTC, 8-9:15pm Cairo
Critical, Socially Just, and Open Pedagogies in STEM IIBryan Dewsbury and Karen CangialosiCritical Pedagogy and Social Justice
Session 2: Reframing Equity in STEM Education
August 10, 2023 from 1pm-2:15pm EDT, 5-6:15pm UTC, 8-9:15pm Cairo
Critical, Socially Just, and Open Pedagogies in STEM IIBryan Dewsbury and Karen CangialosiCritical Pedagogy and Social Justice
Session 3: Towards a Pedagogy of Open Science
August 11, 2023 from 1pm-2:15pm EDT, 5-6:15pm UTC, 8-9:15pm Cairo
Critical, Socially Just, and Open Pedagogies in STEM IIBryan Dewsbury and Karen CangialosiCritical Pedagogy and Social Justice

Conversations 

Sounds from across the Globe
June 15, 2023 from 10-11am EDT, 2-3pm UTC, 5-6pm Cairo
Joyful globe-hoppingHeather K.Wellbeing & Joy
GeoGuesser Games
June 9, 2023 from 11am-12pm EDT, 3-4pm UTC, 6-7pm Cairo
Joyful globe-hoppingHenry and MiaWellbeing & Joy

June Events

Climate Action Pedagogy (CAP) Design Challenge: Live Co-Working Session (Hosted by OneHE)
June 5, 2023 from 12-1:30pm EDT, 4-5:30pm UTC, 7-8:30pm Cairo
Karen Costa and Niya BondEmergent
Movement, Music, and Learning
June 9, 2023 from 11am-12pm EDT, 3-4pm UTC, 6-7pm Cairo
Irene MaweuWellbeing and Joy
Instructional Practices with Impromptu Speaking
June 11, 2023 from 7-8am EDT, 11am-12pm UTC, 2-3pm Cairo
Alia AttiaWellbeing & Joy
Attending to the Student Experience in a Gateway STEM Classroom
June 23, 2023 from 1-2:30pm EDT, 5-6:30pm UTC, 8-9:30pm Cairo
Sushilla KnottenbeltCritical Pedagogy and Social Justice
Stories from around the world
June 26, 2023 from 11am-12pm EDT, 3-4pm UTC, 6-7pm Cairo
Joyful globe-hoppingHeather K.Wellbeing & Joy

[still populating June Events: Expect additional events on all themes in the coming few weeks]

July Events

Healing conversations via Reparative Humanism
July 5, 2023 from 2-3:30pm EDT, 6-7:30pm UTC, 9-10:30pm Cairo
Mays ImadWellbeing and Joy
What you see is NOT what you get! Visual Literacy and Gestalt Design
July 7, 2023 from 8-9am EDT, 12-1pm UTC, 3-4pm Cairo
AND August 7, 2023 from 8-9am EDT, 12-1pm UTC, 3-4pm Cairo
Roz HussinOpen Education and Digital Literacy
Care and Community Building in the Meetings and Gatherings of Higher Ed (recording here: )
July 13, 2023 from 11-12:30pm EDT, 3-4:30pm UTC, 6-7:30pm Cairo
Liz LehfeldtCritical Pedagogy and Social Justice
How can you be pragmatic and ethical together, navigating entanglements and tensions in integrating educational technology into design? (recording here: )
July 12, 2023 from 7:30pm-8:30pm EDT, 11:30pm-12:30am UTC, 2:30-3:30am Cairo
Tim Fawns and Stephanie MooreCritical Pedagogy and Social Justice
What’s the next most elegant step?
July 19, 2023 from 8-10am EDT, 12pm-2pm UTC, 3-5pm Cairo
Jennie BlakeCritical Pedagogy and Social Justice
8 C’s: Cultivating Your Inner-Work to Becoming Compassionate
July 24, 2023 from 12-1:30pm EDT, 4pm-5:30pm UTC, 7-8:30pm Cairo AND
August 21, 2023 from 12-1:30pm EDT, 4pm-5:30pm UTC, 7-8:30pm Cairo
Hanan SabryWellbeing and Joy
Labor-Based Grading as Antiracist Classroom Ungrading Practice
July 24, 2023 from 4-5:30pm EDT, 8-9:30pm UTC, 11pm-12:30am Cairo
Asao InoueCritical Pedagogy and Social Justice
OPEN Brave Space – Picture Perfect Doomsday
July 26, 2023 from 8-9am EDT, 12pm-1pm UTC, 3-4pm Cairo
AND August 30, 2023 from 8-9am EDT, 12pm-1pm UTC, 3-4pm Cairo
Roz HussinOpen Education and Digital Literacy
Tackling coloniality in designing EdTech
July 26, 2023 from 11:30am-1pm EDT, 3:30pm-5pm UTC, 6:30-8pm Cairo
Taskeen AdamOpen Education and Digital Literacy

August Events

Open Textbooks for social justice: collaborating with peers and co-creating with students
August 1, 2023 from 10am-12pm EDT, 2-4pm UTC, 5-7pm Cairo
Glenda CoxOpen Education and Digital Literacy
Design your own alternative assessment
August 2, 2023 from 10-11am EDT, 2-3pm UTC, 5-6pm Cairo
Eliana KhouryCritical Pedagogy and Social Justice
A Manifesto for Higher Education for Good
August 16, 2023 from 8-9am EDT, 12pm-1pm GMT, 3-4pm Cairo
Laura Czerniewicz & Catherine CroninOpen Education and Digital Literacy
Critical Thinking and Social Justice
Exploring the tension between enacting pedagogies of care and self care
August 18, 2023 from 12-2pm EDT, 4pm-6pm GMT, 7-9pm Cairo
Rissa Sorensen-UnruhCritical Thinking and Social Justice
Academic Integrity and Artificial Intelligence through the lens of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
August 22, 2023 from 10-11:30am EDT, 2pm-3:30pm GMT, 5-6:30pm Cairo
Sarah Elaine EatonOpen Education and Digital Literacy
Critical Thinking and Social Justice
OPEN Brave Space – Picture Perfect Doomsday
July 26, 2023 from 8-9am EDT, 12pm-1pm UTC, 3-4pm Cairo
AND August 30, 2023 from 8-9am EDT, 12pm-1pm UTC, 3-4pm Cairo
Roz HussinOpen Education and Digital Literacy
Linguistic Justice as an Anticolonial Project
August 30, 2023 from 10-11am EDT, 2pm-3pm UTC, 5-6pm Cairo
Jamiella BrooksCritical Thinking and Social Justice


Register for MYFest23: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/myfest23-mid-year-festival-2023-tickets-640317586137 on Eventbrite

css.php