Banner image - Left side has the MYFest logo with words creative, caring, community, emergent and equitable. and #MYFest24 under the logo. The middle reads "MYFest 2024 June, July and August" and the right side has the Equity Unbound logo of a colorful world map with the words 'via equity unbound' under it.

Critical, Socially Just, and Open Pedagogies in STEM II

Led by Bryan Dewsbury and Karen Cangialosi

When are the sessions?

Session 1: Trust and Power in the STEM Classroom
August 8, 2023 from 1pm-2:15pm EDT, 5-6:15pm UTC, 8-9:15pm Cairo
Session 2: Reframing Equity in STEM Education
August 10, 2023 from 1pm-2:15pm EDT, 5-6:15pm UTC, 8-9:15pm Cairo
Session 3: Towards a Pedagogy of Open Science
August 11, 2023 from 1pm-2:15pm EDT, 5-6:15pm UTC, 8-9:15pm Cairo

What are the pre-readings for each session?

Session 1: Trust and Power in the STEM Classroom

Inclusive and active pedagogies reduce academic outcome gaps by Dewsbury et al. 2022

Session 2: Reframing Equity in STEM Education

Beyond Equity as Inclusion: A Framework of “Rightful Presence” for Guiding Justice-Oriented Studies in Teaching and Learning, Angela Calabrese Barton, Edna Tan May 20, 2020  https://doi.org/10.3102/0013189X20927363

Session 3: Towards a Pedagogy of Open Science

Dynamics of cumulative advantage and threats to equity in open science: a scoping review by Tony Ross-Hellauer, Stefan Reichmann, Nicki Lisa Cole, Angela Fessl, Thomas Klebel and Nancy Pontika 2022

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

css.php